How to Win the Orange Theory Fitness (OTF) Transformation Challenge

How I lost fat, gained muscle, and won $1K cash for doing it

Greg Thomas
5 min readApr 13, 2022

--

OTF App ScreenShot

Above was my winning score during the 2022 Transformation Challenge. Please keep reading to learn how I lost fat, gained muscle, and won $1K cash. I recommend Orange Theory Fitness (OTF) for some; just not my thing. I won the money and lost some weight, so big win! I canceled my membership after the victory, so I made a pretty good profit after using the facility, training, and paying for the armband sensor, which you get to keep.

The Transformation Challenge Explained

The challenge is eight weeks and starts with a DEXA Scan, which measures your body fat composition. The challenge is who can lose the most body fat percentage. So you weigh in on the DEXA scale at the start and again at the end. In my opinion, the equation they use is fair because it encourages anyone, no matter their fitness, to improve. The equation is simple, body fat percentage at the start minus body fat rate at the end divided by body fat percentage at the beginning. During the eight weeks, you must compete in at least three classes, and OTF describes itself as,

“a heart-rate based HIIT total-body group workout that combines science, coaching, and technology…

--

--